Image 01 Image 01 Image 01 Image 01 Image 01 Image 01

Since you guys seemed to love hearing about my Florida camper van travel disaster so much, I thought, what the heck — let’s make this a series! Because heaven knows that ten years after I left on my first big solo travel adventure, I still manage to find myself entangled in a couple complete travel meltdowns per year. And I’ve found that one of the greatest gifts blogging has brought me is the simple catharsis of writing through something that was stressful, scary, upsetting or otherwise a just plain disaster.

Looking back at the last near-decade of travel, I feel grateful that my accommodation fails have been pretty few and far between. I’ve stayed in some cheap guesthouses that could have doubled as the set for the latest sequel of Hostel, gritted my teeth through some unpleasant and rocky night boats, and slept on so many friends’ floors I could put “part-time carpet” on my resumé. But our cute, colorful bed and breakfast in Brighton, England? It was, without question, the single worst accommodation experience I’ve ever had.

Terrible Accommodation Brighton

When Ian and I planned our two week trip the UK, Brighton was to be our big splurge. We pored over hotel and guesthouse options and finally settled on splashing out on Motel Schmotel’s most expensive suite. We spent $460 on a three night stay, which is at the top end of what we like to pay for where we put our heads at night, but we reasoned that we were otherwise staying with friends or using my Airbnb credit, and we could comfortably afford it. We are normally fairly thrifty and so we were giddy with excitement on treating ourselves to something special just for us. And while we fell deeply in love with Brighton, things pretty much couldn’t have gone worse at Motel Schmotel.

Let’s start with the good: the location was fairly convenient and we walked everywhere, the included breakfast was lovely, our room was colorful and quirky, and we loved our balcony overlooking a small square.

And then onto the not-so-great: the room was small, the wifi was very poor, the toilet was wonky and hissed loudly every time we flushed it, and the beautiful patio was lacking any furniture to enjoy it with.

Finally, the I-still-can’t-believe-this-happened: The manager.

From the moment we walked in the door of Motel Schmotel, bright-eyed and all smiles despite our overnight travel from Canada, the frazzled and visibly disgruntled manager seemed to take an immediate disliking to Ian and I. Not to toot my own horn or anything over here, but I generally think of myself as a pretty likeable person — at least upon first impressions, lolz — and so it was very disorienting to experience so much hostility from someone at first glance. Especially someone I was a paying customer to.

Anyway, she didn’t welcome us to the hotel, didn’t ask how our trip was, and didn’t so much as return our smiles as we walked in the door. We arrived at 11:00AM to her practically barking at us about how busy she was and insisting we return to get our room key at noon — but our room wouldn’t be ready until 2PM. We were flustered but we politely insisted that we weren’t sure how our day would go and didn’t want to commit to adhering to an arbitrary deadline when finally, she admitted had a spare key and gave it to us, freeing us to spend the next three hours as we pleased. At one point, she pretty brazenly accused Ian of giving her “a look” while she was “trying to help” us. When she finally produced the key, Ian extended his hand to take it from her, but she brushed him off and walked over to give it to me instead, explaining that she “distrusts men.” Now, normally I can get down with some wink-wink girl banter, but considering everything that followed, it was a bit much.

We walked away bewildered but trying to convince ourselves that she was just quirky and British and we were misreading the bizarre, dismissive welcome to our lovingly chosen accommodation. Little did we know that in the end, this would rank as one of our more positive interactions.

Motel Schmotel advertised breakfast and bed and with our mild jetlag and extreme exhaustion after weeks of non-stop travel we were looking forward to taking advantage of it and starting our days with lazy mornings in bed. Our first morning, we were in bed reading when we heard the breakfast delivery knock on the door — thirty minutes late, which we really didn’t mind as we were in vacation mode. Ian jumped up right away, but paused to throw a robe over his boxers. My jaw dropped when I heard Ian open the door and the same miserable manager shriek “I don’t appreciate you making me wait all day!” followed by, “now all the other breakfasts will be late!” She couldn’t have been waiting more than ninety seconds, maximum, but regardless — berating your customers for not opening the door quickly enough kinda seems like it would be covered pretty early on in hospitality management school.

Terrible Accommodation Brightonif only they were delivered with a smile

After that we were so horrified we did everything possible to limit our interactions, as we really just wanted to remain positive and enjoy our time in a city we’d dreamed about visiting for so long. And really, I’m just hitting the highlights in this post – there were too many rude comments and shocking snubs in three short nights to even begin to catalogue fully.

The next morning we were again reading in bed — with robes on fifteen minutes before our scheduled delivery time, lest we be reprimanded again — though it was hard to unwind while listening to the manager berate her two cleaning and cooking staff members through the thin walls to the point that we were cringing. While we never interacted with the young woman on staff, the older man was absolutely lovely and it turned our stomachs to hear him spoken to so harshly and disrespectfully.

On our final morning, things escalated significantly. We weren’t getting on a train to London until 5:00pm, and so we requested to store our bags until then, an advertised featured of the hotel. The manager sighed and made out as though she was going above and beyond to do us a personal favor before barking shrill orders at her staff to take the bags and to “HURRY, HURRY, HURRY.” At this point, I’d kind of accepted that high-pitched, all caps was her vocal deliver method of choice.

Unfortunately, I still had some blogging work to do post check-out. When I asked to use the wifi for about an hour, the manager suggested I sit outside – on the curb! So I mean I know this wasn’t the Four Seasons but even the budget hostels I’ve frequented around the world tend to extend the courtesy of allowing you to sit on their cushioned surfaces, breathe their free air and use their wifi for a few hours after you check out.

I politely insisted on using the clean and empty breakfast room, which the manager seemed extremely irritated by. By the time I was finishing up we could hear her screaming at the staff asking if “that girl” was still downstairs, and as I was packing away my things she came down and huffed, “Are you finished here?” I confirmed that I was — again, I was visibly packing up — yet she continued on, “You really need to leave. This is a business you know.”

Funny you mention that lady, cause we are in fact your customers. While I’m not sure why she needed us to vacate the already cleaned room, I know what language I would have used if I needed guests to head elsewhere. How about, “I am so sorry to rush you out, but we really do need this room at the moment. Could I possibly suggest some cafes nearby with wifi?”

Terrible Accommodation Brightonthe infamous breakfast room

When we returned later that day to grab our bags out of the breakfast room before heading to our train, I was desperate for a toilet. We’d had a long walk back to the hotel and I couldn’t find a public restroom anywhere. The hotel was empty when we walked in and I was thrilled when I saw the words “toilet” on a door next to the breakfast room. Little did I know it would be perhaps the most traumatic pee of my life. While I was inside, I heard the manager, who had just come downstairs, full-volume screaming at Ian. When I came out she turned it on me, shouting that it was the private toilet of one of the rooms on that floor. Honestly, she was right – the sign DID say “10 toilet,” upon closer inspection.

But I think most women will be sympathetic to the fact that when you’ve been running around a city looking for somewhere to pee, you pretty much just see the word “toilet” and run in. It was an honest mistake, and the proprietor of this hotel reduced me to tears for making it, berating me and accusing me of disrespecting her and the hotel. At one point while she was going crazy, Ian calmly asked her what bathroom I should have used instead. Her answer? Maybe a pub nearby. It wasn’t her problem.

This is so crazy to write that if it didn’t happen, I almost wouldn’t believe it, but she actually then threatened to call the police on us and more or less chased us out of the hotel screaming, “GET OUT! GET OUT!”

I cried most of the way to London.

Sunny Day on Brighton Beach

The manager had no idea that I was a blogger and essentially travel professionally for a living. But what she did know was that we were a polite, professional young couple who paid our hard-earned money for the most expensive room in her hotel. Yet we were made to feel like we were squatters. At best we were treated like an inconvenience; at worst, criminals. I felt distraught for days thinking of our experience here, trying to figure out what it was about us that incited such awful treatment from a business we had paid good money to.

I can’t be sure if it was our youthful age (though dude, we’re nearly thirty), our nationalities (Americans aren’t always the most popular travelers abroad, I guess?), or perhaps Ian’s appearance (his many tattoos and facial hair are hardly out of place in Brighton, but I guess I’m just grasping at straws here). Reading positive reviews online only made it worse as it made us realize that for some reason — a superficial one, I might add, since it began from the moment we walked in — we were not worthy of the same positive treatment other guests received. I wish we had dug deeper while booking this trip and realized that management changed hands recently, or that several online reviews complained of poor treatment towards younger guests, or the management berating the staff.

I immediately filed a complaint with Booking.com, which we used to book our stay — I called them in tears from the train to London — and they were extremely sympathetic and kind. They asked us what we wanted for a resolution. We asked simply for an apology. Despite several follow ups from the booking site, one was never received.

We continued to push the issue with Booking.com and they eventually offered us a $75 refund for our inconvenience. Thanks, I guess? I’m honestly not sure what the procedure when something like this happens is, because I’ve never had something even remotely similar to this happen to me before, but that really didn’t seem like fair compensation for the horrible treatment we endured.

To be honest, I actually hesitated to write about this for a long time because while I am fully confident that we were nothing but polite customers trying to make the best of a terrible situation and we never once stooped to our this woman’s level, it’s almost embarrassing to think how badly we were treated. While we told some our friends about it throughout the rest of our trip and they comforted us and tried their best to make us laugh, it’s still not really one of those things that’s eventually morphed into a funny story we crack up over. I’m still hurt and I’m still confused over what about us incited such truly toxic treatment from a woman we heard being perfectly lovely to other guests.

I actually remained so disturbed that I filed an official complaint with the local tourism board. I think I’m generally pretty happy-go-lucky with accommodation and can essentially count on my hands the number of times I’ve so much as left a negative review for an establishment before this, so that was a pretty huge deal for me.

I’m sad to say I don’t have a really positive note to end this post on. We weren’t vindicated by a huge refund from our booking agent, or buoyed by some incredible act of kindness from strangers, or some other happy ending. But try as I might to see the positive whenever life tests me, sometimes there are just bad days, bitter people, and bummer stories you find yourself a little embarrassed to tell, for some reason.

Brighton is such a gorgeous, vibrant city. I wish our time there hadn’t been marred by one bad booking decision.

Have you ever had a disaster accommodation story?
Confess in the comments — it will make me feel better…

Confused on where we are? I’m catching up on the black hole of content from August of 2016 to April of 2017 — when I jumped forward to blog the summer of 2017 as it was happening. Right now, we’re in September of 2016 in the UK, and I can’t wait to turn my detailed notes and journals into blog posts from Hawaii, Jamaica, Thailand and Bali next! My apologies for any confusion with the timeline, and thanks for sticking with me.

3-devide-lines

Pin It!

Total Travel Disasters: Accommodation Edition
Total Travel Disasters: Accommodation Edition
3-devide-lines
YOU MIGHT ALSO ENJOY
52 Comments...
  • Marie
    January 23 2018

    Hi Meihoukai,

    I’m from the UK and live in Buckinghamshire. I’ve been to Brighton a number times and Ican tell you that the manager at the b&b is a top class pr*ck!

    For the record: a) lots of young people live and visit Brighton, so your ages should not have been an issue, b) has she stepped outside on the streets of Brighton? Because of the hipster scene lots of locals have tattoos and its normal for men to have facial hair. And Ian does not look like a thug c) not all men are dicks and finally d) like I mentioned earlier, what a top class pr*ck!

    Sorry you were treated that way amd you shouldn’t feel bad about your post. What comes around, goes around.

    Ps I’ve been a reader of yours for a few years. As a result of your posts on St Pete and universal studios, I’m visiting these 2 places during my honeymoon later on in the year 🙂

    • Meihoukai
      January 23 2018

      Thanks Marie, I appreciate everything you said — and I’m soooo excited for your honeymoon! Yeah like I wrote I hardly thought our ages or appearances were out of place in Brighton of ALL places, but the woman just took such a fierce and immediate disliking to us, we were grasping at straws trying to figure out what turned her off so much. I guess something about us just rubbed her the wrong way — though clearly from the way she treated her staff, we weren’t the only ones.

  • Danielle
    January 23 2018

    Wow, Meihoukai – what a horrible experience! I’m so sorry you had to go through that. I really can’t believe someone would treat you that way as a customer or just as a human. I’m so sensitive that I probably would have been crying through the whole stay if that had happened to me. I hope that wherever you went next made up for this experience!

    xoxo
    Danielle recently posted..

    • Meihoukai
      January 24 2018

      The rest of our stay was full of welcoming hosts (okay, most of them were our friends 😉 ) and nothing but love. It did take me a few days to shake the whole things off, for sure.

  • Rachel
    January 23 2018

    I’m really sorry that happened to you. It sounds truly awful and I would’ve cried, too. I have a similar story….my husband and I stayed one night in a hostel in Boston. First of all, we paid $100 to sleep in separate dorm rooms – 100 freaking dollars in a HOSTEL! The manager was super rude from the start. No smiles when we arrived, no welcome, nothing. There were signs posted all over the common room saying it’s closed for cleaning at noon everyday. After we checked out, my husband took a shower, something perfectly acceptable in most hostels with shared bathrooms. At 15 minutes before the common room was set to close, the manager came through yelling at everyone to get out, that he was paying his cleaning staff by the hour and no more, blah blah blah. Just being a total jerk. When my husband came back from his shower – still well before the room was set to close – the manager yelled at him about how we needed to get out and that he had let him stay longer to take a shower, which he NEVER allows. It was the worst treatment we’ve ever received at any accommodation. Fortunately we only stayed one night so we didn’t have to experience any more of his hostility.

    It sounds like the woman at your hotel is just a miserable person who is guilty of ageism and thinks that people our age shouldn’t be able to afford such things. I think you and Ian are both awesome people and the problem lies with her, not you guys. I really hope something comes of the complaint you filed with the tourism board. Sounds like this woman needs a swift kick in the arse!
    Rachel recently posted..

    • Meihoukai
      January 24 2018

      Wow, that does sound oddly similar! Your poor husband! You are very right though — when someone treats you like this right off the bat, it’s a them problem not a you problem.

  • Ashley
    January 23 2018

    Yikes, what a nightmare! She sounds like a movie character–too outlandish to be real! I’m sorry that happened to you (and everyone before and since). When bad people happen to me, I rest assured knowing that the problem is clearly her and not you. She’s got issues (big ones!) and none of it has to do with you or your boyfriend. You did the right thing by spreading the word to save us all the heartache of ever staying there!
    Ashley recently posted..

    • Meihoukai
      January 24 2018

      She really was like a cartoon villain. If it hadn’t happened to me, I’d think it couldn’t really be so bad!

  • Oh my gosh, I remember when this happened and you telling me about this at the Blog Squad retreat, but I’m still completely baffled by it hearing it all over again.

    Also, I’m SHOCKED they have such good reviews on TripAdvisor, though I guess the manager is probably a Craig who has all the bad ones scrubbed.

    Finally, this manager reminds me SO much of the guy in Dublin that vlogger just got into a kerfuffle with as he also had banned vegans and gluten-free diners the previous year! If you love to hate people, perhaps DON’T get in the hospitality business maybe?

    • Meihoukai
      January 24 2018

      Yeah, it definitely does have a similar tune, doesn’t it! We actually could HEAR the manager through the walls being polite to other guests, so definitely something about us rubbed her the wrong way. Oh and we also figured out that she had very recently bought the place so previous glowing reviews weren’t really due to her — though it’s been a while and she still has plenty of good ones (there are a few red flags for sure) and like you said, bad ones could be scrubbed.

  • Kathryn Allen
    January 23 2018

    Just curious why you don’t give the name of the establishment. It would be a public service. I suspect you are trying to be the better person, but all of this is so beyond the pale, maybe it’s your duty as a travel blogger to prevent others from this horrible experience.

    • Ha, I thought the same thing at first, Kathryn—I just assumed Meihoukai was trying to keep them anonymous, lol.

      • Meihoukai
        January 25 2018

        Oh heck no. More than happy to spread the word on this one and try to save someone else from our experience.

  • Kathryn Allen
    January 23 2018

    Oops, now I realize that Hotel Schmotel is the actual name! REALLY? Sounds like they are living down to what they must think is an ironic and witty name. Not ironic at all…..

    • Jill
      January 23 2018

      Ha, I thought the same thing–“Why isn’t she naming the hotel? Wouldn’t she want people to avoid it in the future?” I can’t believe it’s really called Motel Schmotel!
      Jill recently posted..

    • Meihoukai
      January 24 2018

      Ha, we actually thought it was witty and cute too when we first booked. Brighton is a quirky city and this seemed to fit right into the vibe! Of course, our tune changed quickly upon arrival.

  • Angie Orth
    January 23 2018

    There’s nothing worse than a mean person making you question if YOU did something wrong. I’m sorry this happened to you, one of the truly nicest and most thoughtful people I’ve ever met. Sometimes, people are just cray. Adding to the list of hoteliers we someday laugh about… when we’re old and gray.
    Angie Orth recently posted..

    • Meihoukai
      January 24 2018

      You’re so sweet Ang! Thanks for making me smile. And yes… someday… we will laugh. Right? (If wine is involved, perhaps.)

  • sarah
    January 23 2018

    „she was just quirky and British“ 😀

    I’m sorry you had such a bad experience and glad you still liked the city!

    • Meihoukai
      January 24 2018

      Haha we were reaching for any explanation!

  • Maddy
    January 23 2018

    This is SHOCKING, and I’m so sorry you had to endure this! I have never met you (and obvs the internet is subjective) but I would never think of you as making ANYTHING OTHER than a great first impression, especially on people in other countries or in the service industry. Like another commenter noted above, if she hates people so much, she shouldn’t be in customer service. Good god!

    I think you did the right thing of reporting it to the tourism board, and I’m sorry there wasn’t a happier or more satisfying movie-ending resolution. Just know her karma will come back around someday and you did all you could to be gracious and set the example for her! <3
    Maddy recently posted..

    • Meihoukai
      January 24 2018

      Yeah, I was actually pretty surprised that I never got a reply from the regional tourism board, especially as I worked with other ones within the UK. Oh well — I’ve done everything I can now to try to help others avoid a similar heartache.

  • Joella
    January 23 2018

    Oh my! This is crazy! While I wouldn’t say it’s common I do think the UK has it’s fair share of eccentric and/or arrogant B&B owners, but this is way out of line. I don’t know how she thinks it’s acceptable behaviour to treat paying customers (or really, any human being) like this. I’m glad you reported it and presumably left a review too. Ugh. At least you were still able to enjoy Brighton for the most part.

    • Meihoukai
      January 24 2018

      We did both leave reviews, as well. And yeah, unfortunately I have to say this did turn us off staying in a bed and breakfast again. In a big hotel we could have been a bit anonymous but with ten rooms we couldn’t really escape her misery.

  • Elizabeth
    January 23 2018

    Wow! I stayed in Brighton last summer with a group and we were put at the Travelodge. It was the WORST accommodations of our trip and really left me feeling not so good about Brighton as a whole. The Travelodge in Windsor was great, so I don’t know why the one in Brighton was so gross! At least the service wasn’t terrifying. I guess it could have been worse… I’m glad you at least enjoyed Brighton! I did think the Pavilion was awesome as well as our group programming at the Regency Town House.

    • Meihoukai
      January 24 2018

      That’s a bummer! We really did everything in our power not to let this mar our impression of the city and luckily I was able to mentally separate them fairly well — I’ll be back to Brighton for sure… in CLEARLY different accommodation.

  • Dad
    January 23 2018

    Like your mom I wondered why you didn’t use the real name but I checked it out and it is real. Maybe that should have been the first clue. I was in SF on business. SF was crowded with a huge convention that all hotels raised their rates. I was quoted $1334 a night!!!! When I check out it was $1454 a night, taxes for two nights the bill was $3400. I wrote a scathing review on Trip Advisor.

    • Meihoukai
      January 24 2018

      I hate price gouging! Ian and I are passing through Koh Samui next month and I thought, maybe we should stop for a night or two. So I looked up a few hotels and they were $1,000 a night for standard rooms — turns out it’s Chinese New Year. But 4-5x the standard rate is ridiculous, and so sad for the people who due to work can only travel on those dates.

  • Mary Beth
    January 23 2018

    This makes my f***ing blood boil!!!!! (And kinda makes me think of those Moose Cafe fools I’ve been hearing about this last week…).

    I’m so sorry for you, and understand the feeling! Though I talk a good game – “I don’t care what people think of me!” – it’s super hard for me to let that shit roll off my back, and DEF enough to ruin an otherwise kick-ass getaway.

    You’re not alone, though. I was weirdly reprimanded by a UK conductor who angrily – and very LOUDLY – told me “Don’t bother me with this! You know what the rules are!!!” when I asked about a train ticket purchase. I guess my southern drawl wasn’t enough of a hint that I wasn’t exactly a local…

    And that time in Italy when a girlfriend and I were KICKED OUT of our guesthouse by a screaming Italian woman after presumably overstaying our welcome… I’ll never know for sure, not knowing Italian. What I was able to translate, though? Her repeated shrieks of “GET OUT, GET OUT, GET OUT!”

    Your post kinda gave me déjà vu on that one…

    There are a couple more, but I’ll save myself from getting in a tizzy (and save you from having to read what would amount to a whole book!). But the fact that she had zero shame – treating you like shit while TAKING YOUR MONEY – already has me in a tiny rage!

    Rant over – so sorry again that you had to endure that nonsense!
    Mary Beth recently posted..

    • Meihoukai
      January 24 2018

      Whoa, that is creepily similar! I think I’ll be steering clear of bed and breakfasts for a while… I need more privacy OR mass anonymity than that.

  • Nadia
    January 23 2018

    Some people just suck at being human… The way she treated you was dreadful! So much for British manners.

    • Meihoukai
      January 24 2018

      Seriously. At one point Ian said he thought we might be on a hidden camera show. That would have made more sense!

  • Julia Nix
    January 24 2018

    Chin up girl! People like that, as Kristin said should not be in hospitality. I remember how you shared the story of a restaurant episode in Koh Tao. Like you, I would give my feedback too. Just walk away and never return to any nasty place ever again. p/s: It is possible that the hotel female manager is from Spain, not a Brit. Still no excuse to behave like a monster.

    • Meihoukai
      January 24 2018

      She was definitely British. And I agree — some people overstay their welcome in hospitality, or shouldn’t be a part of it in the first place.

  • becky hutner
    January 24 2018

    Meihoukai, that is hideous! I too take it very personally on the rare occasion someone treats me with contempt. I hope Head Ho-bag of Motel Schmotel reads this all the comments and walks away with a valuable lesson. Be courteous to ALL of your guests because one of them just might be a hugely successful travel blogger with a VERY LOYAL following and a ton of sway. Ouch.

    • Meihoukai
      January 25 2018

      I’m not too sure she’d care, to be honest. But I do hope I can possibly spare someone the same heartache we had over this situation! It was the one dark spot on an otherwise amazing stop in Brighton.

      • becky hutner
        January 26 2018

        SHE WILL CARE WHEN HER BUSINESS GOES KAPUT!

        • Meihoukai
          January 26 2018

          Hahaha — well I can CERTAINLY guarantee I won’t be a repeat customer.

  • Oh, no. This is awful Meihoukai and utterly unacceptable! I’m British, and even though I don’t live in England anymore, I feel so bad for you.

    And you’re right, your appearance should have had nothing to do with it. You both look nice and approachable, and Brighton is crammed with young couples such as yourself. Tattoos, piercings, Brighton has the lot, as well as being huge on the gay scene. I can’t get over the fact that this woman acted so hostile, was extremely unprofessional, and utterly rude. Very unEnglish!

    Just to make you feel better. My disaster took place in Delhi, 13 years ago… I knew that India could be extremely dodgy with hotels, so did my research on-line, then asked my local travel agent to do the booking on my behalf. I even called the hotel, had the confirmation faxed through, and everything. Of course, once I landed, their driver came to pick me up, but the hotel manager claimed that they had no such booking, were fully booked, and that I should go to another hotel down the road! It was 02:00 in the morning and I was travelling solo…

    I was so scared, that I refused to leave the hotel, insisted that they help me, and burst into tears. After an hour, they threw some man out of a room, sent the cleaners in, then told me I could have it!

    It was the exact same room that I had originally booked!
    Victoria @TheBritishBerliner recently posted..

    • Meihoukai
      January 25 2018

      Oh, that would have SO stressed me out. I hate arriving in a new country in the middle of the night and that definitely would have left me so rattled. I love that you stood your ground, stayed safe, and got what booked!

  • Amy
    January 24 2018

    What a horrendous story Meihoukai, I’m so sorry you had to go through that, that woman’s behaviour is just inexcusable. I know service in the UK is generally no where near up to US standards, but this sounds ridiculously bad. I hope that the tourist board actually does something about it – I assume you posted on all the review sites about your experience? I hope seeing negative reviews online that could hurt her business might actually cause her to rethink her attitude. Glad you managed to enjoy Brighton otherwise though.
    Amy recently posted..

    • Meihoukai
      January 25 2018

      We did also post reviews, but I think they probably got drowned out by the majority generally positive ones. Something about us definitely just rubbed this woman — who did seem a bi unhinged to begin with — VERY much the wrong way. Sadly we never heard back from the tourism board.

  • Dominique
    January 24 2018

    I’m sure it wasn’t you guys, if she is also giving the ALL CAPS treatment to her staff. Reading this post actually made me cringe. I’m lucky to never have experienced this. I would be absolutely gutted and destroyed if I would be treated like that! It’s good that you mentioned the hotel by name and that you approached different boards and websites to inform people!
    Dominique recently posted..

    • Meihoukai
      January 25 2018

      Yeah, I think she probably really is just a very generally unpleasant person (how can you treat the people who work for you day in and day out like that) but it seems manages to turn on the charm for the majority of her guests. We weren’t so lucky.

  • aaron
    January 25 2018

    I feel sad for what happened but when i look into trip advisor they have very good review though

    • Meihoukai
      January 25 2018

      Indeed they generally do — as I wrote in this post, that kind of made the experience harder for us because it made us feel very singled out. We did dig deep and find that a few referenced the poor treatment of staff or attitude towards younger guests. But yes, they were in the minority, which left us baffled as to why we didn’t deserve the same experience most guests received.

  • Nigel William
    January 28 2018

    Hi, Meihoukai! This is an awful situation! I can`t believe what I just read. That woman can`t work with people with this horrendous behavior! I mean, we all have bad days, but no matter in what state of mind you are, when a customer walks through your door, you HAVE to be smiling and be polite. I hope this bad experience didn’t ruin the vibe of the city. Are you planning to come back?

    • Meihoukai
      February 2 2018

      We are! We truly had a fantastic time in Brighton despite this — a credit to what a great city it is, for sure. I agree though. Everyone has bad days, but you can’t take it out on the customer.

  • Ijana Loss
    February 1 2018

    I was on vacation, finally getting around to commenting on this! So, here’s the thoughts that kind of ran through my head as I was reading this article. You mentioned the possibility that Ian’s appearance could’ve turned her off somehow. She very non-discreetly said she didn’t trust men. Me Too is going around right now. The motel seemed to have generally favorable reviews. Do you think that maybe she could’ve had an unfortunate encounter in the past with someone who resembled Ian? Maybe someone with long hair and tattoos? Because obviously there is a reason for her acting so terribly to you guys. That doesn’t give her any excuse for the way she acted, but that’s kind of a possibility I was pondering

    • Meihoukai
      February 2 2018

      First of all, hope you had a great vacation! This was actually over a year ago (catching up on my old stuff right now while I’m not traveling!) and so it was long before #metoo kicked off, but you still could be very right that we triggered a bad memory of some sort in her. It seemed personal, for sure.

  • Lisa
    February 3 2018

    What a terrible experience Meihoukai! So sorry that happened to you. If I was in your situation I probably wouldn’t be as nice as you were. I’m more of a viciously angry snapping crab if someone were to treat me unfairly like that. Which hotel was this?

    • Meihoukai
      February 3 2018

      Haha, everyone seems to think I’m using a pseudonym but I’m not! It’s Hotel Schmotel, the name is in the post twice 🙂