Image 01 Image 01 Image 01 Image 01 Image 01 Image 01

Bangkok is one of my favorite cities in the world and I’ve loved exploring the different corners of it, from reveling in the backpacker ghetto that is Khao San Road to staying in trendy hostels in Silom to trying out residential life with friends way out in the suburbs.

But my favorite area to stay in the city continues to be Sukhumvit. I’ve tested out a few hotels in this area already — The Aloft, the Four Points, and the Shama Suites — so when asked me to review , I jumped at the chance.

The Location

S15 Hotel Bangkok Exterior

Location is S15’s greatest asset. Sukhumvit is ground zero for Bangkok’s shopping, restaurant and nightlife scenes — there’s no better place to be in the city. S15 lies in the heart of Sukhumvit and just steps away from both the BTS Asoke stop and the MRT Sukhumvit stop. Anyone who has ever wrestled with Bangkok traffic knows what an asset that is!

The Reception

S15 Hotel Bangkok Lobby

S15’s lobby is minimalistic and chic — and within moments of walking in I was texting my mom a photo of the chandelier, which was also in our hotel in Reykjavik! One feature I really liked about S15 was that I arrived incredibly early in the morning — hours before check in — and was shown to a waiting room off the lobby with a shower, air-con and wifi where I could wait for my own room to open up.

The Room

S15 Hotel Bangkok Hallway

I love that moment of anticipation when you breeze off an elevator and skip down the hotel corridor (why walk when you can skip?) and get to open a hotel room for the first time. I was impressed — the room was spacious, with a large desk and a nice couch. As I was spending most of the weekend in my room working, I really enjoyed having multiple places aside from the bed to lounge.

S15 Hotel Bangkok

S15 Hotel Bangkok Room

The bathroom had a separate shower and bathtub, which I can confirm was the perfect place to unwind after a long day traversing the city!

S15 Hotel Bangkok Bathroom

The Restaurant

S15 Hotel Bangkok Breakfast Buffet

S15 Hotel Bangkok Breakfast Buffet

I’d have to say that my favorite thing about staying in nice hotels isn’t the comfortable bed, or the unlimited air con, or the trendy designs. It’s the free breakfast — no doubt! I gorged myself on S15’s spread, which included an omelet station, several Asian dishes, and your typical Western breakfast fare.

The Extras

S15 Hotel Bangkok Spa

S15 boasts an on-site spa, which I didn’t visit — but I was sorely tempted by the serene music an lovely smells that wafted by when I walked past. WiFi is free, and conference and meeting rooms are available.

Room for Improvement

While the rooms and location and the key selling points for this hotel, there is room for improvement. The lack of rooftop pool or bar puts it at a disadvantage compared to other comparable spots on Sukhumvit. Also, the gym was pretty much a joke — a space smaller than my hotel room with a broken treadmill and a bike that wouldn’t adjust positions. WiFi unfortunately was not strong enough to maintain a Skype call, which was unfortunate as I was trying to catch up on work that weekend, but might not be an issue for the average traveler.

Anyone have a good Sukhumvit hotel recommendation? Or for another part of Bangkok?

Book a stay at S15 . Many thanks to for their hospitality. You can check their website for more discounted hotels all over Asia or you can join their resourceful . As always, all opinions are my own.

3-devide-lines
YOU MIGHT ALSO ENJOY
21 Comments...
  • Kathryn
    April 24 2013

    The waiting room with a shower!!!! Truly an innovation that hotels in the US should take note of.

    • Meihoukai
      April 25 2013

      Well you know me… the wifi was my favorite feature!

  • Steve Mckee
    April 24 2013

    Hey Meihoukai,
    A post idea:
    Looking forward to your commenting on this new book: “OVERBOOKED: The Exploding Business of Travel and Tourism” by Elizabeth Becker. It was reviewed in this Sunday’s NYTimes book section:
    The review includes this:
    “”At the opposite end of the spectrum is Cambodia, which has pursued tourist dollars with little concern for the environmental or human consequences. The temples of Angkor Wat are being degraded, and the mystical ambience, Becker writes, has been lost ‘in a scrum of foreigners with guides shouting in competing languages.'””
    You have weighed in on these subjects before, Meihoukai, and I think more from you would be a vauable contribition to this important worldwide debate.
    Steve McK

    • Meihoukai
      April 25 2013

      Thanks for the heads up Steve… interesting article! I’ve added the book to my “to-read” list when I get home. Might inspire a post!

  • sarah
    April 24 2013

    This is gorgeous! I love staying at hotels that have a totally different style than my home. It makes a vacation even more “exotic” – even if its close to home!
    sarah recently posted..

    • Meihoukai
      April 25 2013

      I’m definitely a hotel junkie… I’d be happy to live in them even at home!

  • Dad
    April 24 2013

    You are a great hotel promoter because you speak to the potential guest from the guests perspective not the hotels wish of what they want to promote. This might be a revenue generating opportunity.

    • Meihoukai
      April 26 2013

      And I genuinely love the whole hospitality industry… I think its fun to see what the competition is in an area and figure out room for improvement! I could be a hotel mystery shopper šŸ™‚

  • Sam
    April 24 2013

    Look at you go bouncing around the world and reviewing hotels! That breakfast spread looks lush.
    Sam recently posted..

    • Meihoukai
      April 26 2013

      I know you’re the kind of girl who can appreciate a proper omelet station!

  • Ash
    April 25 2013

    About Sukhumvit !
    Sukhumvit is my favorite area too…I have been to Bangkok once and have been in sukhumvit exploring it for four days and just tasting the delicious asian food…. I have one suggestion that you must try Amari Boulevard once it is one of best in sukhumvit..!

  • Ash
    April 25 2013

    And also Wi Fi facility is really amazing in this hotel with amazing lobby as one night i was up in lobby till 4 a.m working and didn’t realize the time….One of the coolest place Amari Boulevard!

    • Meihoukai
      April 26 2013

      Thanks for the tip! Maybe I’ll get a chance to check it out one of these days… I do love good wifi!

  • memographer
    April 25 2013

    Interesting… The bathroom with two separate showers? Hmm-m. I am trying to picture a situation when two people take showers in the same bathroom… Interesting…
    memographer recently posted..

    • Meihoukai
      April 26 2013

      Yes that was a little quirky, but I think it was more that there was a bathtub which for some reason had a showerhead and then also a nice rainhead shower!

  • Spencer Montague
    April 25 2013

    I always stay in the Sukhumvit area and always at Hotel Solo a wonderful boutique hotel. It’s located near the end of Soi 2 so very quiet even though only one block from Nana Plaza. I make Solo my choice because of location, proximity to MRT, rooftop pool and bar and inexpensive rate. I book through Booking.com as they never charge a credit card until you check out (unlike Agoda who immediately charges your card), and you also have a big window should you choose to cancel.

    • Meihoukai
      April 26 2013

      Thanks for the tip! I’ll check out Hotel Solo one of these days.

  • Arianna
    June 25 2014

    Hi Meihoukai! I have a question not overly related to this blog post ( though extremely helpful:) )
    My girlfriend and I spent a short month in Thailand last November and hope to return to SE Asia this Dec. We are just deciding between Philippines, w/ a quick stop in Thailand to visit friends- Or just explore more of Thailand/Cambodia/Laos– What would you suggest ? Which country is your favorite?

    • Meihoukai
      June 27 2014

      Hey Arianna! That is really tough to answer without knowing more about what you are looking to get out of this trip. Do you want to dive? Temple hop? What did you love most about your last trip to Thailand? There really is no right answer, it totally depends on your travel style/wishes! I’d have a hard time deciding between those destinations myself!

      • Arianna
        July 2 2014

        Diving for sure!! and maybe a few temples but generally we are more beach bums:) The only thing I was worried about in Philippines was the expense from hopping around so much but I saw your travel breakdown and it doesn’t look so bad!

        • Meihoukai
          July 3 2014

          If you are beach bums and don’t mind being off the beaten path, go for the Philippines! If you prefer the company of your fellow backpackers (no shame in that!) I’d look elsewhere! šŸ™‚